Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Game runs slow at intervals

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8

    Game runs slow at intervals

    I have a frustrating problem. My game is running slow at intervals, for no reason at all it just starts to run slow and hacks for some time, and then it runs normal again for a while. The sound is always fine, though, it's only the picture that hacks. Please help me with this?

  2. #2
    Random Lurker Miral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,744
    This sort of thing is usually a sign that it's running out of memory, and forcing Windows to swap some other programs out to disk (which slows everything down for a while). Although usually the sound is affected too.

    How much RAM do you have on your machine? If it's not a lot, you may want to try closing down as many background programs as you can (especially things like virus scanners and web browsers) before running the game.
    "Why not? Only one human captain has ever survived battle with a Minbari Fleet. He is behind me. You are in front of me. If you value your lives…be somewhere else!"

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    My RAM is 2,00 GB.

    I'm only running the anti virus program, which I cannot close or deactivate. But none other program is affected, only this one.

    OK, maybe the game is not really running slow, it rather hacks, if you know what I mean.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    Isn't there anyone who can help me with this.

  5. #5
    Remember KHH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    3,932
    Sorry. I don't think we know how to fix it.
    April Ryan is my friend,
    Every sorrow she can mend.
    When i visit her dark realm,
    Does it simply overwhelm.

  6. #6
    Random Lurker Miral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,744
    What version of Windows are you running?

    2GB is not enough RAM to run Windows Vista or 7 along with a game (it's ok but marginal for XP). Add more.
    "Why not? Only one human captain has ever survived battle with a Minbari Fleet. He is behind me. You are in front of me. If you value your lives…be somewhere else!"

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    I have XP, so it should work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •